View Full Version: Sound like a scam to you?

StockClassPaintball Forum > Off Topic > Sound like a scam to you?


Title: Sound like a scam to you?


Murf425 - December 13, 2004 04:02 AM (GMT)
I got this email from "Paypal" tonight. I avoided the links provided, and just went to Paypal on my own, and my account seems to be in order. I did notice that when the link is clicked, it takes you to http://www.paypal.com, whereas the actual Paypal site is https://www.paypal.com . That "s" in there is supposed to signify a "secure" site.

Anyway, I went to Paypal, everything seems in order, no activity on my "History," so I'm thinking this was a scam attempt. Watch out.

QUOTE

Dear  PayPalŪ Member:

Recently, our Account Review Team identified some unusual activity in your
account. In accordance with PayPal's User Agreement and to ensure that your
account has not been compromised, access to your account was limited. Your
account access will remain limited until this issue has been resolved. This
is a fraud prevention measure meant to ensure that your account is not
compromised.

In order to secure your account and quickly restore full access, we may
require some specific information from you for the following reason:

We would like to ensure that your account was not accessed by an
unauthorized third party. Because protecting the security of your account
is our primary concern, we have limited access to sensitive PayPal account
features. We understand that this may be an inconvenience but please
understand that this temporary limitation is for your protection.

Case ID Number: **-***-***-***

We encourage you to log in and restore full access as soon as possible.
Should access to your account remain limited for an extended period of
time, it may result in further limitations on the use of your account.                                   

However, failure to restore your records will result in account suspension.
Please update your records on or before December 30, 2004.

Once you have updated your account records, your PayPal session will not be
interrupted and will continue as normal.

To update your Paypal records click on the following link:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_login-run



Thank you for your prompt attention to this matter. Please understand that
this is a security measure meant to help protect you and your account. We
apologize for any inconvenience.


Sincerely,
PayPalŪ Account Review Department

PayPal Email ID PP519
                             

Accounts Management As outlined in our User Agreement, PayPal will
periodically send you information about site changes and enhancements.

Visit our Privacy Policy and User Agreement if you have any questions.
http://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=p...privacy-outside


What do you think? Suspicious?

Cargo - December 13, 2004 04:07 AM (GMT)
Bogus.
Change your mail client to text only and you will see the real link.
Or, if you stuck in HTML mail mode, do a view source to see the real link.
Don't touch it.

dockman - December 13, 2004 04:11 AM (GMT)
I emailed paypal about an email just like that and they told me that it was not them that sent it. DO NOT reply to it in any fashion and report it to paypal. It is a scam 100%.

Murf425 - December 13, 2004 04:15 AM (GMT)
I had heard rumors, that's why I ignored it.

Like I said, the tip-off for me was that the URL did not have that "s" in it. I had read once that it was VERY important when logging into Paypal to make sure that you had that "s" in the address line.

Interceptor - December 13, 2004 05:34 PM (GMT)
I've gotten simular emails supposedly from Ebay. I sent copies of them to their fraud department.

Silk - December 13, 2004 06:01 PM (GMT)
It's not a scam! They're only trying to help you! Go ahead and give 'em your information.

Oh, by the way, my buddy is the Nigerian Ambassador and needs a place to put some cash. Want to help him out? You'll make a nice profit, too...

:rolleyes:

I wonder, does anyone actually fall for those things?

Murf425 - December 13, 2004 06:02 PM (GMT)
QUOTE (Cargo @ Dec 12 2004, 11:07 PM)
Or, if you stuck in HTML mail mode, do a view source to see the real link.

It said something about being locked and that my browser couldn't decipher it. Not the exact words, but it was last night and I have since deleted it.




* Hosted for free by InvisionFree